USA Authorized Gelagen Retailer Lot GEL-26/GE-6362 Two gummies a day · 60 a bottle 60-day money-back guarantee +1 (302) 200-3480

Gelagen Stacking Totals

Journal

Doubling Up: Adding A Multivitamin To A Skin, Hair And Nails Gummy

Quick answer

Add the printed amounts, in the unit the upper limit uses. On the Gelagen panel alone, vitamin A (630 mcg preformed), folate (442 mcg DFE), iodine (42 mcg) and zinc (2.7 mg) all sit well inside their adult limits. Adding a multivitamin only changes that if the second panel is generous or a form or unit is misread. Preformed vitamin A and folic acid are the two sums worth doing carefully.

Two labels, one body, one running total

Most people who look at a skin, hair and nails gummy are not starting from nothing. They already take something: a multivitamin, a vitamin D tablet, a prenatal, a pack of something for energy. So the practical question is rarely what one label contains. It is what two labels contain together.

That is a fair question and it has a boring, reliable answer, which is arithmetic. Nutrients do not care which bottle they came from. Vitamin A from a gummy and vitamin A from a multivitamin arrive in the same liver. So the way to check a stack is to write down the printed amounts, put them in the same unit, add them, and compare the total with the published upper limit for that nutrient.

This page does that for the four rows on the Gelagen panel where the sum can actually matter or where people most often wonder: vitamin A, folate, iodine and zinc. It uses invented multivitamin numbers, clearly labelled as invented, because the aim is to teach the method and not to describe anyone’s real product. Every Gelagen figure is copied from the label page, and every limit comes from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheets.

It is also worth noticing that this is a real issue in national data and not just a theoretical one. In a survey of about 8,860 US adults, Bailey and colleagues found that supplements lowered the number of people below the estimated average requirement for every vitamin examined, but that for folic acid and for vitamins A, B6 and C, supplement use also increased the likelihood of intakes above the Tolerable Upper Intake Level (Bailey 2012). A separate NHANES analysis of 16,110 people aged two and over found that 8.4% had total zinc intakes above the upper level, and 10.3% for niacin, while the share above the limit was very low for most other nutrients (Fulgoni 2011). Both analyses used data collected in 2003 to 2006, so they show a pattern and not a current figure.

What an upper limit is, and what it is not

A Tolerable Upper Intake Level, or UL, is the maximum daily intake unlikely to cause adverse health effects (the ODS zinc fact sheet defines it in those words). The Food and Nutrition Board sets it, and it is a ceiling for a usual daily intake, not a target and not a line where harm suddenly starts. It also does not apply to someone taking a nutrient under medical supervision.

The important detail is that each UL has its own scope, and getting the scope wrong is how sums go astray.

  • The vitamin A UL, 3,000 mcg a day for adults, applies to preformed vitamin A, meaning retinol and its esters such as retinyl acetate and retinyl palmitate. Beta-carotene does not count toward it (ODS on vitamin A).
  • The folate UL, 1,000 mcg for adults, applies only to the synthetic forms found in supplements and fortified foods, and it is expressed in mcg of folic acid, not in mcg DFE (ODS on folate).
  • The zinc UL, 40 mg for adults, covers zinc from food and supplements together, and it was set on the basis of adverse effects on copper status (ODS on zinc).
  • The iodine UL, 1,100 mcg for adults, covers food and supplements together (ODS on iodine).

Two of those are unit traps waiting to catch anyone who adds by eye: the vitamin A limit counts only some of the vitamin A on a panel, and the folate limit is in a different unit from the one the panel prints. Both are dealt with below.

The four Gelagen rows against their limits

The Gelagen panel prints these four amounts for a serving of two gummies, which is the daily amount. The fourth column is simple division and this page’s own arithmetic.

Gelagen alone, per serving, against the adult upper limit
NutrientPrinted on the panelAdult ULGelagen as a share of the UL
Vitamin A630 mcg, as retinyl acetate (all preformed)3,000 mcg preformed21%
Folate442 mcg DFE, form not stated1,000 mcg folic acidAbout 265 mcg of folic acid if all of it is folic acid, which is 27%
Iodine42 mcg, form not stated1,100 mcg3.8%
Zinc2.7 mg, form not stated40 mg6.8%

On its own, then, the Gelagen panel sits well inside every one of these limits. The vitamin A line is the largest share, and it is also the line where the form matters most, because retinyl acetate is preformed vitamin A and every microgram of it counts toward the ceiling. The site’s own safety notes flag the same row for anyone pregnant or nursing.

Folate illustrated in the Gelagen ingredient artwork
Folate is the row with the unit trap The panel prints 442 mcg DFE. The upper limit is written in mcg of folic acid. The two are not the same unit.
A group of Gelagen bottles for the three-bottle pack, the centre one face on
Only the serving on the label counts Two gummies a day is the serving every figure describes. Taking more adds more of every row, in the same proportions.

The method, in five short steps

  1. Find the serving on each label and note how many pills or gummies it is. Some multivitamins print amounts for two, three or four tablets, and the ODS multivitamin fact sheet notes that manufacturers sometimes offer products in packs of two or more pills to be taken daily (ODS on multivitamin/minerals).
  2. Copy the printed amount for the nutrient, and copy the form beside it. Retinyl acetate, retinyl palmitate and beta-carotene are not interchangeable for this purpose.
  3. Put both amounts in the unit the limit uses. That means mcg of folic acid for folate, and mcg RAE of preformed vitamin A.
  4. Add them. Then add what you can estimate from food and fortified food, which the panels cannot show.
  5. Compare the total with the UL, and treat anything above roughly three quarters of it as a reason to look harder, not as a verdict.

A worked example with made-up numbers

Suppose someone takes a standard once-a-day multivitamin alongside two Gelagen gummies. The panel of that multivitamin is invented here for the exercise. It is not any real product, and its numbers are chosen to be plausible so the arithmetic can be followed.

Hypothetical “Multivitamin X” plus Gelagen, added row by row
NutrientHypothetical multivitaminGelagenTotal, in the limit’s unitAdult ULShare of UL
Preformed vitamin A900 mcg RAE, all as retinyl palmitate630 mcg1,530 mcg3,000 mcg51%
Folic acid680 mcg DFE, printed as 400 mcg folic acid442 mcg DFE, which is about 265 mcg folic acidAbout 665 mcg1,000 mcg67%
Zinc11 mg2.7 mg13.7 mg40 mg34%
Iodine150 mcg42 mcg192 mcg1,100 mcg17%

The Multivitamin X figures are invented for the exercise and describe no real product. The Gelagen figures are the printed panel amounts. Folic acid for the Gelagen row is 442 mcg DFE multiplied by 0.6, the ODS conversion for folic acid taken with food, and it assumes all the folate is folic acid, which the label does not state.

Reading it row by row is more useful than reading the total. Vitamin A comes to about half the limit, which is fine but not nothing. Folic acid comes to about two thirds, and that number is missing something: the fortified food someone eats in a day, such as enriched bread, pasta or breakfast cereal. The UL counts synthetic folic acid from all of it, and the panels cannot show that part. Zinc and iodine come to a third and a sixth. Both totals are comfortable, and the iodine total lands above the 150 mcg adult reference intake without coming near the ceiling.

Now change one thing. Suppose the second product is a “high potency” multivitamin, another invented panel, with 2,500 mcg of vitamin A as retinyl esters and 800 mcg of folic acid. Preformed A becomes 3,130 mcg with the Gelagen 630, which is 104% of the limit. Folic acid becomes about 1,065 mcg, or 107%. Neither number would be visible from either label alone, and both would be over the ceiling on a day that included nothing else. The ODS multivitamin sheet notes that some products contain amounts substantially higher than the Daily Value or Recommended Dietary Allowance, and in some cases higher than the UL (ODS on multivitamin/minerals). That is why the arithmetic is worth ninety seconds.

Two unit traps, in full

Folate. The panel prints folate in mcg DFE, dietary folate equivalents, because folic acid from a supplement is absorbed better than folate from food and the unit puts them on one scale. The limit, however, is in mcg, not mcg DFE. ODS states it directly: for folic acid, 1,000 mcg is equivalent to 1,667 mcg DFE, because 0.6 mcg of folic acid equals 1 mcg DFE (ODS on folate). Comparing 442 with 1,000 would be the wrong sum. Comparing 442 DFE with 1,667 DFE, or 265 mcg of folic acid with 1,000, is the right one. When the pill is taken on an empty stomach, ODS gives a different factor: 1 mcg DFE equals 0.5 mcg folic acid, which would make the same 442 DFE about 221 mcg of folic acid. Using 0.6 is the more cautious choice, and the Gelagen directions ask for the gummies about half an hour before a meal, so the truth sits somewhere between the two.

There is a second caveat on this row. The panel does not say what form the folate is in. Some supplements use 5-MTHF, also called methylfolate, and ODS notes that conversion factors for that form have not been formally established. Treating all 442 mcg DFE as folic acid, as the table does, overstates the sum if it is another form, and an overstatement is the safer direction for a check.

Vitamin A. The Gelagen row says retinyl acetate, so all 630 mcg is preformed and all of it counts. A multivitamin, though, may list vitamin A partly or wholly as beta-carotene. ODS gives a worked example: a supplement labelled as 3,000 mcg RAE of vitamin A, of which 60% is beta-carotene, provides 1,200 mcg RAE of preformed vitamin A, because only the 40% from retinol or its esters counts toward the UL (ODS on vitamin A). So a panel showing a large vitamin A number is not necessarily a large preformed A number, and the fine print on the form decides.

Which sums matter, and which mostly do not

Not all four rows deserve the same attention, and it helps to say why.

Preformed vitamin A matters most. It is fat soluble, so the body stores the excess, mostly in the liver, and levels can accumulate. ODS lists chronic effects of regular high intake as dry skin, painful muscles and joints, fatigue, depression and abnormal liver test results, and notes that total intakes of preformed vitamin A above the UL can cause birth defects (ODS on vitamin A). That last point is the reason the Gelagen safety notes say the product is not for anyone pregnant or nursing, and it is the reason to add up the vitamin A in a pregnancy or preconception stack with particular care.

Folic acid matters second. Bailey’s survey named it among the nutrients where supplements raised the likelihood of exceeding the limit. ODS records that about 5% of men and women aged 51 to 70, and men over 70, have folic acid intakes above 1,000 mcg, primarily from supplements. The concern behind the limit has been that large amounts can correct the anaemia of vitamin B12 deficiency without correcting its neurological damage. ODS adds that questions about that possibility remain, and that the focus of concern has shifted towards large amounts precipitating or worsening the anaemia and cognitive symptoms of B12 deficiency.

Zinc and iodine matter least at these amounts, but they are not empty. Zinc at 50 mg or more for weeks can interfere with copper absorption, and ODS says the ULs were set on that basis. A hypothetical 13.7 mg total is nowhere near it. Iodine is a different sort of case: excess iodine can inhibit thyroid hormone synthesis in susceptible people, and ODS says people with autoimmune thyroid disease or iodine deficiency may react to intakes that are considered safe for the general population (ODS on iodine). That is a reason for anyone with a thyroid condition to ask a clinician, whatever the arithmetic says.

What the sum cannot capture

A tidy total is only as good as its inputs, and four things sit outside it.

  1. Food. Fortified cereals, enriched bread and dairy add to the running total, and no label shows them. The UL for zinc and iodine counts food; the folic acid limit counts fortified food too.
  2. Other products. A prenatal, a hair vitamin, a sports drink or an energy shot may each carry the same four nutrients. The method extends to every one; it just needs one more row.
  3. Individual circumstances. Pregnancy, thyroid disease, kidney or liver disease, and some prescription drugs change what is sensible. The UL is a population figure, and it does not apply to someone taking a nutrient as treatment under a physician’s care.
  4. The label’s own accuracy. The panel prints amounts, and this page has no laboratory result for the finished gummy, so every sum here assumes the printed amounts are the actual amounts.

A worksheet to copy

Fill one row per product, using the amounts and forms printed on each panel. The Gelagen row is already filled from the label.

Stacking worksheet, one product per row
Product and servingPreformed vitamin A (mcg RAE)Folic acid (mcg)Zinc (mg)Iodine (mcg)
Gelagen, 2 gummies630About 265 (from 442 mcg DFE, at 0.6)2.742
Product two
Product three
Your total
Adult UL3,0001,000401,100

If the total lands near or above a limit, or if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, have a thyroid, liver or kidney condition, or take prescription medicine, take the worksheet to a pharmacist or clinician before taking both products. A total near a limit is not an emergency. It is a good reason to choose one product for that nutrient rather than two.

The short version is that the Gelagen panel, on its own, is well inside the adult limits for these four nutrients, and that adding a multivitamin changes the picture only if the second panel is unusually generous or if the forms and units are misread. Those are easy mistakes to avoid with a pencil. For a wider look at what else the panel does and does not carry, the field-by-field guide to the Supplement Facts panel covers the serving, the units and the footnotes, and the trial-planning post covers how to keep a log while you change one thing at a time.

Sources
  1. Bailey RL, Fulgoni VL, Keast DR, Dwyer JT. Examination of vitamin intakes among US adults by dietary supplement use. J Acad Nutr Diet. 2012;112(5):657-663.e4. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22709770/
  2. Fulgoni VL, Keast DR, Bailey RL, Dwyer J. Foods, fortificants, and supplements: Where do Americans get their nutrients? J Nutr. 2011;141(10):1847-1854. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21865568/
  3. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin A and Carotenoids: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated December 15, 2023. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminA-HealthProfessional/
  4. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Folate: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated November 30, 2022. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Folate-HealthProfessional/
  5. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Zinc: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated September 28, 2022. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Zinc-HealthProfessional/
  6. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Iodine: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated November 5, 2024. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Iodine-HealthProfessional/
  7. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Multivitamin/mineral Supplements: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals. Updated July 17, 2024. https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/MVMS-HealthProfessional/
A row of Gelagen bottles, the front one labelled Advanced Gummies for Skin Health

Read the Gelagen label for yourself

Thirteen nutrients with an amount beside every one, and two gummies a day.

$49 to $79 a bottle

Order Gelagen
Gelagen · official website from $49 a bottle · two gummies a day · 60-day guarantee
Order Gelagen